A Father’s Daughter


From a little shoot to a sapling I watch her grow
Of everything I was every part of she’s the most amazing
Hours gazing into her cradle birth forth her mother’s eyes and smile
Pride warms my cheeks and makes my belly flutter
Like the box that bore her mothers engagement ring,
She’s a pocket full of hope and everything beautiful
So small yet the happiness you bring has lit up our lives
Santa really did it this time
What other proof of how good a boy I’ve been than this..
She confirms she’s mine with a fist full of my finger
All my heart can say is never let go.
With my bare fists I’ll hammer nails into steel
To build a bridge to the best future your young mind is yet to imagine
everything has lost meaning before those deep brown eyes
And my life is no exception
As I will trade it a million times over to buy yours even if it be just once
Those babbles say nothing
But when you smile,even though for a second..
it all makes sense
I hear every word you haven’t learnt to say,loud and clear
My blue rose
Your colour has painted our world in every shade of happiness
You are the music from keys our love played
A photographic capture of nostalgia
Now we would never forget the nights we made you.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Wow, Ebi! I’m awed by this. Your use of words simply blows my mind. I could almost ask that you do a poem specially for me. Beautiful piece, dear.

    Reply

  2. …I just want to say that what you have, is a gift. This poem..beautiful. Your daughter is beautiful ๐Ÿ™‚ I can already see her through your eyes.
    Never stop writing. Please.

    Reply

    • I’m sure when I eventually have her she’ll be more than glad to read your kind comment about her being beautiful…Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

  3. […] phenomenal lady, and should carry yourself as such. Donโ€™t let anyone bring you down. You are your Father’s daughter-and he holds you in such high regard. Let those standards be the same as the ones you command from […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

